London to Brighton charity ride 17/09/17

(Anthony) #1

Hi all,

I will be taking part in the London to Brighton charity ride on 17th September 2017. Muscular Dystrophy is a group of muscle wasting diseases. It’s something I didn’t really know about until I met my girlfriend a couple of years ago and meeting her family. She has two brothers with it, one has duchenne muscular dystrophy, and the other has becker muscular dystrophy. She also has other family members with it as it runs in her family.

I have been cycling for a couple of months now on a road bike and set the London to Brighton ride as a goal as something to train for. Having got to know my girlfriend’s brothers and seeing the effect of muscular dystrophy helped me decide upon Muscular Dystrophy UK as my charity of choice.

Any support, no matter how small, will be greatly appreciated. You can donate here

http://www.doitforcharity.com/AnthonyBrooks

If you can’t afford to donate, any words of support will be appreciated just as much :grinning:

I will keep this thread updated with my training progress from Strava.

The route is approximately 54 miles / 87 km. I will be riding this solo and am looking to do my absolute best in terms of time, average speed and power output while on the bike. With all the training and commuting I’ve been doing on the bike recently, I am feeling a lot fitter, and once this charity ride is done, I will be looking to do more next year.

Thanks for reading,

Ant.

(Anthony) #2

Today’s workout

(Anthony) #3

My rides over the last 4 days.

(Anthony) #4

My rides from Friday and Sunday.

(Anthony) #5

2 punctures :slightly_frowning_face:

My rides from the last couple of weeks. A couple missing as I had a broken phone for a few days and had to replace. Starting tomorrow around 0545. Cycling to the start point so that adds on approximately 24km putting the day total at approximately 112km.